Domestic violence arrests in Lake County FL undertake a specific direction for our clients bail bond release from jail.
What makes a crime an act of Domestic Violence?
Our staff at Altman Bail Bonds understand the complications that an arrest of Domestic Violence can bring and will walk the family through each step of posting bond. Domestic violence bail bonds require certain steps for the court to process and release our defendant on bail. Bail amount is determined by a judge and will depend on the defendants prior arrest and severity of the domestic crime. Bail for misdemeanor simple battery is usually set at $1,000 but is at the judge's discretion. As charges escalate to felony domestic and battery strangulation the bail amount will be set higher at $2,000 - $5,000. Our clients will be able to bail out for 10%, this is the standard bail bond pemium fee in Florida, and a qualified co-signer. We commonly are contacted by the victim, as domestic violence arrest are the most common charge the is not prosecuted by the court.
Section 741.28, Fla. Stat., defines Domestic Violence as any act of violence by one family or household member by another family or household member.
"Family or household member” means spouses, former spouses, persons related by blood or marriage, persons who are presently residing together as if a family or who have resided together in the past, and persons who are parents of a child in common regardless of whether they have been married.
Once it is determined that an act of violence qualifies as Domestic Violence or DV, special laws apply. The defendant will not be able to post bail right away and the case is no longer subject to the standard bail bond release process. The defendant will have to have a court appearance called bond hearing for bail to be set by the judge.
You will not be able to post bail until bond hearing is complete. Everyone arrested for Domestic will see a Judge with in 24 Hours.
Posting the Bond & Getting Released
First Appearance or bond hearing is generally held at the Tavares jail in Lake County FL every morning. Once the Judge sets the bail amount and the bail bondsman delivers the bail bond to the Lake County Detention Center, release is typically at 5pm. This 5 O’clock release is an order from the first appearance judge . The Judge will also issue a No Victim contact at this point and the Lake County Sheriff's office will notify the victim of the defendant's release.
Call ALTMAN BAIL BONDS, Inc. upon the arrest of your loved one. Oue experienced bail bondsmen will guide you through the specific needs and direction of posting a Domestic Violence bail bond.
(352) 343-6090Click to Call!
Domestic Violence Cases Require Mandatory Court Appearance Before Bonding Out of Jail
Florida statutes require that prior to a defendant’s first appearance in any charge of domestic violence which must be held within 24 hours of arrest, the prosecutor State Attorney’s Office shall perform a thorough investigation of the defendant’s history, including, but not limited to: prior arrests for domestic violence, prior arrests for non-domestic charges, prior injunctions for protection against domestic and repeat violence filed listing the defendant as respondent and noting history of other victims.
This information shall be presented at first appearance, when setting bail. The bail is set by the first appearance judge and can range from $1000 misdemeanor Simple Battery to $25,000 Felony Aggravated Battery. When a defendant is arrested for an act of Domestic Violence, the defendant shall be held in custody until brought before the court for admittance to bail in accordance with chapter 903. In determining bail, the court shall consider the safety of the victim, the victim’s children, and any other person who may be in danger if the defendant is released.