Florida firearms laws, use & ownership
Weapons Crimes Bail Bonds Service by Altman Bail Bonds, Inc.
Weapon charges in Lake County Florida
Weapon charges in Lake County FL will generally carry a felony bond amount when the individual is a convicted felon. The crime of possesion of firearm by a convicted felon (Florida Statute 790.23.) is a second degree felony and the bond amount is set at $10,000. This charge is a difficult bond to do unsecured, as it carries a mandatory prison sentence. Call our Lake County Bail Bonds agency to see how we can help you bond out on this charge.
Weapon charges in Lake County Florida will also add to an existing charge such as Aggravated Battery with a Deadly Weapon. The bail bond for this charge is typically larger starting out at $5,000 and raising depending on the severity of the crime.
A “knife” may or not be a deadly weapon. Whether a knife is a deadly weapon is determined by, “whether it will likely cause death or great bodily harm when used in the ordinary and usual manner contemplated by its design and construction,” or if the knife was “used in a threatening manner.”
Robinson v. State, 547 So.2d 321 (1998).
A concealed firearm is essentially defined under Florida law as, any gun carried on a person in such a manner as to conceal the gun from the sight of another person.
A firearm is any weapon which will, or may be readily converted to, expel an explosive projectile. It essentially includes any gun, rifle, shotgun. The definition does not include any antique firearm, unless that firearm is used in the commission of a crime. The definition includes a starter gun.
Reference: FL Statutes. §790.01
In Lake County Florida the bail bond for Carrying a Concealed Weapon is set at $1000 and you would be able to bail out with a Bail Bondsman for 10%.
Florida Carrying a Concealed Weapon / Firearm – Penalties
Carrying a Concealed Weapon:
An individual who carries a Concealed Weapon on or about his/her person is charged with a 1st Degree Misdemeanor. A first degree misdemeanor carries a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and a $1000 fine.
Carrying a Concealed Firearm:
An individual who carries a Concealed Firearm, while unlicensed, on or about his/her person is charged with a 3rd Degree Felony. A third degree felony carries a maximum penalty of 5 years in jail and a $5000 fine.