Theft Crimes and Bail Bonds
General Definition of Theft Theft generally refers to the unauthorized use or taking of someone’s property but the term also encompasses a variety of theft crimes. In the State of Florida, Penalties for theft generally depend on the value of the property and can be classified as either a misdemeanor or a felony.
Types of Theft Crimes
Depriving a merchant or business of property or merchandise without the intent to pay for it. Petit Theft bail bonds are usually set at 1000 in Florida and you would be able to bail out with 10%(100).
Burglary of A Conveyance
The unlawful entering of any structure or vehicle with the intent to commit a crime. However, theft does not have to take place to incur a burglary charge. Burglary to a conveyance bail bonds usually start at 5000 and we frequently see them as much as 15,000.
This refers to theft of property with a value below $300 and is classified as a misdemeanor for the first few times. If a person is convicted of Petit Theft or Retail Theft two or times then the next charge and every charge after will be labeled as a felony. Petit Theft bail bonds are usually set at $1000 in Florida and you would be able to bail out with 10%($100).
This generally refers to theft of property that exceeds $300 and is considered a felony. Grand Theft is the divided into 3rd degree, 2nd degree, and 1st degree depending on the amount the is accused of being taken. The Bail Bond for Grand Theft is $2000 here in Lake and you would bond out for 10%($200).
The forceful taking of a motor vehicle from another person with the intent to deprive that person of ownership. Armed Carjacking in Florida will be a 1st degree felony with punishment of years to life in prison if convicted.
Assuming the identity of another person for the purpose of obtaining that person’s credit. The Bond for Identity theft is $1000-5000.
Dealing in stolen property
This refers to any attempt to traffic in stolen property including the planning, managing, financing, supervising, or organizing the theft of property. Dealing in Stolen Property Bail Bond is $2,000-5,000.
Theft that is accomplished by force, violence, or assault. Strong Arm Robbery bail is $10,000-50,000.
Abusing a position of trust or official job position in order to take someone else’s money or property.
(352) 343-6090Click to Call!
State of Florida Theft Laws
Florida laws use the legal term “theft” to describe a variety of property crimes, including larceny, stealing, misappropriation, conversion, and other offenses. In general, theft involves the unauthorized taking or use of another person’s property.
In a theft case, the prosecutor must prove several elements of the crime. A theft bail bond may range from 1000 all the way up to 25,000 depending on the severity and number of offenses committed.
The prosecutor must establish the defendant’s specific intent to take or use property belonging to another person.
The defendant must have intended to temporarily or permanently deprive the owner of possession or use of the property.
The prosecutor must show that the defendant had the criminal intent at the time when the defendant took or attempted to take the property.
Florida state laws distinguish between petit theft and grand theft. The type of theft determines whether the state will prosecute an offense as a misdemeanor or a felony. The type of theft often depends on the value of the property.
Penalties and Sentences
The punishment for theft depends on the degree of the theft charge. Florida state laws punish a petit theft as a second degree misdemeanor with a sentence of imprisonment for up to sixty days and a fine in an amount up to $500.
If the defendant has a prior conviction for petit theft, the state may prosecute a subsequent offense as a first degree misdemeanor, which may result in a sentence of up to one year and a fine up to $1,000.
If the defendant has two or more prior convictions for petit theft, the state may charge a subsequent offense as a third degree felony, which increases the potential term of imprisonment up to five years and the fine up to $5,000.
Grand theft in the third degree carries the same punishment as a third degree felony. Florida laws allow the prosecution of grand theft in the second degree as a second degree felony. A conviction for a second degree felony may be punished with a sentence of imprisonment for a term lasting up to fifteen years and a fine in an amount up to $10,000.
Grand theft in the first degree results in a first degree felony charge, which can lead to a term of imprisonment for up to thirty years and a fine in an amount up to $10,000.
Florida Statutes Sections 812.005-812.081